A new creative outlet

linford-miles-205452

Blogging is something I’ve had a love-hate relationship with since the early days of my Journalism degree. I’m not sure if anyone else is as weird as I am about getting a couple of hundred words down on metaphorical paper, but I am notoriously uncompromising at offering any of my own writing for the scrutiny of others. Not only is it hindering my capacity to become a better journalist, but I am completely self-aware that it is driven by a desire to avoid a bruised ego at all costs.

I’ve decided it’s time to say enough with all that. Enough with the self-doubt, the self-pity and most importantly the counter-productivity. There are so many amazing reasons to write, if not simply for the catharsis and motivation it can inspire in other facets of life. I hope that it will not only make me a better writer, but also even more impassioned about the ‘niche’ I have started to create for myself as an environmentalist.

Through Subversive Sustainability (a working title, because you know… I’m still me) I intend to explore the many environmental issues plaguing our world and bringing us closer to an unsustainable and unstable future. It is about time that environmental activism broke into the mainstream – the degredation of our planet being just as morally incomprehensible as other, more obvious forms of neglect. To be an environmentalist is to be in favour of social justice, human rights, and an overall better quality of life. It can’t be hugging trees and frolicking in meadows all the time. Going forward, I hope that I can illuminate just how environmental policy will not only be beneficial in saving a world on the brink of self-destruction, but how it can work in symbiosis with strong social and economic policy.

Leave a Reply

